The circus lands in Kirribilli

Here I am sitting in Allison and Kyle’s apartment in Kirribilli, a suburb of Sydney, Australia, and finding it hard to believe that I am here visiting Allison and Kyle in Kirribilli.

I am here because they have pioneer hearts. As do many of my children as well as my husband.

I do not have a pioneer heart but I think I understand and encourage it in others.

What is a pioneer heart, you might wonder?

Let’s put it this way, I’d still be in England drinking tea.  And I am pretty sure that my daughter Margie would have stayed in England with me.

My husband and our other five kids? I think that they all would have embarked on a voyage to the new world. And of those who actually landed in Virginia, Florida or Massachusetts, I believe that at least three of them would have gone on to travel the unknown out west.

Allison is one of those three.

Her pioneer heart has taken her to Prague, Trinidad, Guatemala, Uganda and now Australia. She and Kyle live here because Kyle was sent on business for the next couple of years.

Allison is not alone in this passion for exploring. Her brother Mitchell lived in France for two years and is about to move to Chicago for a second time. He loves travel, meeting new people and learning history.

Her sister Leslie is on an 11-month mission trip that takes her to a different country each month. She travels with a back pack, a team of fellow missionaries and a heart for every one she meets.

Without their pioneer hearts, I probably would never have visited France, Trinidad, Guatemala and now Australia.

 

Remember? I would still be in Great Britain enjoying tea time.

 

 

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-US
JA
X-NONE

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:12.0pt;
font-family:Cambria;
mso-ascii-font-family:Cambria;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-hansi-font-family:Cambria;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;}

 

Leave a comment